One-Minute Book Reviews

May 30, 2024

Why I Don’t Count The Number Of Books I Read

Filed under: Books — 1minutebookreviewswordpresscom @ 2:30 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Book-tracking websites like Goodreads helped to launch an era of competitive reading. So did books with scary titles like 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die.

All over social media, people can’t seem to stop telling you how many books they’ve read. Or about how many they think you should read.

All of this can co-opt the joy of reading by turning it into a numbers game. I’ve seen an article called “1000 Books Before Kindergarten,” as though it’s never too soon to start making kids feel guilty about how little they’ve little they’ve read.

In a new article on @Medium, I explain why I’ve never counted the books I’ve read and why quality matters more than quantity when it comes to your reading. Short version: If I need to read a thousand more books before I die, I’ll have to meet my Maker with a paper bag over my face.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.