One-Minute Book Reviews

September 27, 2010

2011 Newbery and Caldecott Winners to Be Announced on Jan. 10 at 7:30 a.m. – National Book Awards Winners on Nov. 17

The American Library Association will announce the winners of 2011 Newbery and Caldecott medals for distinguished American children’s books beginning at 7:30 a.m. on Monday, January 10, 2011. The ALA site has more information on those and other prizes awarded by the organization.

Other dates for major book awards:

The winner of the 2010 Man Booker Prize for fiction will be named on Oct. 12, 2010, and the winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize in literature in mid-October at a date to be determined by the Swedish Academy. Michael Orthofer over at the Literary Saloon, a veteran observer of Nobel Prize politics, thinks the annoucement could come on Oct. 7 but that Oct. 14 is more likely.

The finalists for the 2010 National Book Awards for fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people’s literature will be announced on Oct. 13, 2010. The winners will be named on Nov. 17.

The shortlist for the National Book Critics Circle Awards in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, criticism, biography and autobiography or memoir will be announced on Jan. 22, 2011, and the winners on March 10, 2011.

Jan Harayda (@janiceharayda) often comments on book awards, including those listed above, on Twitter at

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: